Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

5 Signs That You’re the Back-up Date

I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while now.   Today I received an email that enabled me to start on this post again.

Dear Sara,

I have been dating this guy for about three months. He calls me regularly for about two weeks and then disappears. He always asks me out on last-minute dates. The dates go well but then he disappears. Why do you think he does that?

Anonymous

Here are 5 signs that you are the back up date:

  1. The person calls you regularly then disappears
  2. The person shows interest and then runs cold for periods of time
  3. The object of your affection always asks you out at the last-minute (once in a while is ok, but always is a red flag)
  4. He/she is not moving forward in the relationship (if it’s been months and you still only see him/her once a week..there might be an issue.)
  5. He/she demonstrates random behavior (calls a lot, stops calling. Always responds to text messages, then stops. It’s really a continuation of number 2.)

I am sorry Anonymous. I think there is a strong chance you are the back-up date. My advice is to stop seeing him. I would let him know that you are looking for a more consistent relationship. Be honest and then walk away. You can’t make someone want to make you a priority.  I know that sucks and it hurts (I’ve been there) but if you walk away now, you can find someone who DOES want to make you a priority. Good luck my friend!  To my male friends (and female) please drop this attitude. There is no point in dating just to date…not when you’re a grown up.

backup date

Until Next Time…Ciao!

October 22, 2013 - Posted by | Dating Advice, Players, Relationships, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Ah yes .. this rings true for a couple of guys in my life too x

    Comment by Kay BeeBee | October 22, 2013 | Reply

    • I’ve been the back up date before and it sucks. I refuse to be someone’s second or third choice ever again my friend. 🙂

      Comment by datinginvegas | October 22, 2013 | Reply

      • Absolutely …. I’ll drink to that … (well I will on November 1st as I’m sober for October) …here’s to be being NUMERO UNO x

        Comment by Kay BeeBee | October 22, 2013


Leave a Reply

