Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

Love Songs That Suck!

I’m gonna hate a little bit. Sometimes I love me a love song. Unlike some people I know, when I am upset, love songs are not what I want to hear. In fact, all I wanna do is listen to rap music when I get in a mood like I am tonight. However, I can appreciate a beautiful song. (Just not tonight.) What I don’t get is certain songs that make no sense. If anyone reading this can offer an interpretation of one of the songs below that makes sense I would love to hear it.

So just for fun (it really is just for fun), I’ve created a list of love songs or songs of love (heehee) that I have never understood. Let the ranting begin.

  • Love the One You’re With by Crosby Stills Nash-Man I’ve never liked this one. Not as a kid when my mother played it and not now. “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with.” How depressing. I especially feel bad for the woman he refers to as being with currently. I mean. “Honey I love you cuz you’re here.” That’s how this song makes me feel.
  • Creep by TLC – Yeah this may not make the love song category but I gotta include it. First let me say that I LOVE TLC. I just don’t get this song. “I love my man with all honesty but I know he’s cheating on me.” um..ok this isn’t good girlfriend. Then you hear, “Tho I might mess around, it’s only cuz I need some affection.” SO um…..why are they still together? Am I stupid to think this? I am not judging but if he’s cheating and she’s cheating—-why are they still together? That’s all I gotta say about that.
  • I’d Do Anything for Love by Meatloaf – What won’t you do Meatloaf? (who kinda scares me by the way) I mean he will go to hell and back for love. That’s a lot! I wish he would make a sequel and tell us what he won’t do. I need closure…just sayin
  • She Loves You by the Beatles – I also LOVE the Beatles and I get this is just a catchy lil number but it made the list for the Top 50 Love Songs of All Time..really? http://www.billboard.com/articles/list/1538839/top-50-love-songs-of-all-time?list_page=2
  • Unfaithful by Rihanna – I LOATHE this song. When it comes on the radio, I change the channel out of principle. Such a beautiful melody and voice wasted by this. “He’s more than a man and this is more than love, the reason why the sky is blue……and to him I can’t be true.” This whole song is about how she madly loves the man she keeps cheating on. I.Don’t.Get.It. I really don’t. It’s so easy..stop it girlfriend. derr…

I know that some people don’t get why I like the music I do..I just do. Sometimes it’s the anger or the ego behind it. Sometimes the dancer in me just likes the beat. I guess I’m different..pun intended..This song below is one of my favorites. It’s the type of music that can momentarily distract me from depression or anxiety. (but the mother in me has to warn you to not listen if your kids are around or if you’re easily offended by bad language.) I’m not…so there.

Moral for today? Well…If I were to really stretch I guess I could offer that it does not matter what type of music you like as long as you find comfort in it…but that’s REALLY stretching it. Let’s just call it a fun post. Until next time..Ciao!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2QKlmMT8II

May 5, 2013 - Posted by | Just for Fun | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Love me some Meat Loaf. Haha

    Comment by New Single Guy | May 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

