Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

What a Girl Wants

An exasperated (that was totally a $0.50 word-I know it cuz I spelled it wrong the first time) oops okay take two! An exasperated man confronted me tonight with the question, “What is it you want in a man Sara?”  Well this got me thinking about what I really do want.

The first thing I wanted to do was bust out in song and dance from the Grease 2 movie, “If you really want to know, what I want in a guy, well I’m looking for a dream on a mean machine……” (Some of you can pretend you didn’t see that movie…mmmmhmmmm) Anyways I refrained because I didn’t want to behave like a dumbass child. Well I didn’t want to behave as a bigger dumbass  errr child. So as I was saying, after I bit my tongue about singing, I had to really consider what was safe to tell this man.

This is a nice guy. I chose to be honest with him. I told him I had a horrible, flesh-eating disease and that the treatment is in Poland and lasts 3 years….okay I didn’t sing AND I didn’t lie. I told him an abbreviated version of the truth.

I’m looking for a best friend that I can’t keep my hands off of. I want a companion and a partner in crime and someone who doesn’t get upset over my childish ways.

That WAS the truth, I just couldn’t find a way to also say….

He’s a real smooth brother, never in a rush
And he gives me goose pimples with every single touch
Spends quality time with his kids when he can
Secure in his manhood cuz he’s a real man
A lover and a fighter and he’ll knock a knucker out
Don’t take him for a sucker cuz that’s not what he’s about
Every time I need him, he always got my back
Never disrespectful cuz his mama taught him that

Okay someone just told me that was the lyrics to a Salt and Pepa song. WHAT??? (yeah I am kidding-I think it’s a full moon or something.) I will get serious for a moment. What I wish I could say is everything I told him plus…

I really want a man who will take the lead. I don’t want to run things all the time. I would like to meet a man who won’t put up with my crap. However, I want the man to be able to stand up to me respectfully. I need a man who likes to make out. (Well I do-good girls like making out too.)

Perhaps I am looking for too much. I would just like to qualify those requirements with this: I am not looking for money, or movie star looks. I just want that compatibility. I experienced a lot of those qualities. I just never experienced them in the same man. I’ve already had my best friend with mad chemistry. The kind of love that is unconditional. Unfortunately, it was not reciprocated. I would have gone to hell and back for that man. What a pity. Anyways, my instincts tell me I am on the right course. The course I am on is also the moral of my little post…I DO want those qualities. I DO NOT need a man. I WANT a partner. I WILL wait for them. I WILL NOT serial date to find them, and when I find a man who has potential..I WILL invest some time into him. So fellow readers my advice is: discover what you really want, set some boundaries and try to invest some time in the man/woman with potential….. Until next time-how about a song? I just love me some 90’s hip hop…xoxoxoxo…Ciao

February 26, 2013 - Posted by | Dating Advice, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Was JUST having a discussion about this with a friend last night. What I’m looking for, what she’s looking for … She happens to be feeling despair right now. “What do I have to do to find, not even a husband, but just someone to date for awhile?” She’s in Southern California. She’s said, “It’s a problem for me, here. You’re not finding it any easier on the East Coast … I have friends in San Francisco in the same position …” She feels like every method she’s tried is a dead end.

    Comment by yourmasterdater | February 27, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes I think the biggest thing is to not worry about it and let nature take its course. BUT that is much easier advice to give than to follow.

      Comment by datinginvegas | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  2. I can relate to this. Like the commenter above, I don’t want to get married, even finding someone to date that I feel more than ‘meh’ for is really tough,and I’ve tried. Close to deactivating my profile again for a while. Don’t want to veer over into Bitterland and never return.

    Great post. I DO firmly believe he is out there for you. I love that song too 🙂

    Comment by Amy | February 27, 2013 | Reply

    • WOW when you say you want to meet a man you feel more than “meh” for, I can really relate. It is easy to screen out losers and jerks but the guys that are just so so are harder to screen. I feel “meh” about almost every guy I meet. I could write an entire post on Meh guys-lol

      Comment by datinginvegas | February 27, 2013 | Reply

      • Ugh! Me Tooo! That’s my biggest issue. the ones that aren’t awful are just ok. I sometimes think that’s worse. If it’s not going to work out, I’d at least like to get a story out of it 🙂

        Comment by ChroniclesoftheRomanticallyChallenged | March 4, 2013

      • Yes plus I don’t know about you but after a bunch of super weirdos, I will start thinking..well maybe he’s okay…but he never is…

        Comment by datinginvegas | March 4, 2013

      • Haha yup! You wind up trying to force yourself to like him – which is never a good sigh.

        Comment by ChroniclesoftheRomanticallyChallenged | March 5, 2013

  3. Also had a discussion with my best friend recently about what we want in a man. And as it turns out my standards from “the list” are outrageously high. And so my friend told me what she wants in a guy, and it helped put my silly insatiable standards into perspective. I admire your strength and will to wait and never settle for anything less than what you deserve : PS: I’m working on the thank you award post.

    Comment by Audrey | February 27, 2013 | Reply

    • The real goal is to not have your standards too high BUT also to not settle. Once again this is much easier said than done-right? Thank you by the way 🙂

      Comment by datinginvegas | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  4. Pingback: http://wp.me/pYv0I-4a Thought you may find this useful… and insightful…. this along with this.. great blocks to build on Pingback: http://wp.me/p2ML45-g

    Comment by Clark Kent | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  5. I totally want to copy your comments in to my dating profiles. I decided to gamble and reopen one tonight, and completely blanked on what to put. I think this may fill in my gaps!

    Comment by ModernIdeals | February 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

