Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

Online Dating Faux Pas – communication failures

Psst: I am really speaking to the fellas here (only because of my experiences) but this can pertain to any gender. So I am gonna rant a wee bit tonight. HOWEVER, I do really want to help. (It’s in my nature.) This is an attempt to make myself useful again. A couple of them might be repeats from previous posts but I really am trying to drive the point across. Here we go!

1. Please stop writing Drama free or No games in your profile. It’s tired, worn out and cliché. Oh and hey-life is drama so let’s keep it real.

2. Do not continuously wink at someone without communicating with them. Look dude-you wink, I wink back-MAKE A MOVE. Quit winking over and over cuz I am too busy to deal with that.

3. Please read the profile of the person you are making contact with. This means if a profile states that he/she is looking for a committed relationship, you should not ask if the person is looking for a hook-up. KNOW YOUR AUDIENCE.

4. Make sure you use the correct name when addressing someone after the initial email.  Um I get it if you are talking to other people. BUT you need to get my name right-it’s tacky and a major FAUX PAS.

fauxpas5

5. Do not pigeon-hole yourself into a text relationship. This ties into the winking. Make initial contact, exchange numbers, send a couple of texts, and schedule a meeting. It’s like that yo. Most people are tired of the texting non stop with no plans to meet.

6. Spell check on initial contact email and spell check on your profile. Basically..spell check. A couple of errors are human but rampant errors are questionable.

7. Declarations of love right after or before a first date are not cool. Just not cool.

8. Do not start online dating if you are still living with someone. I don’t need to even say more here. You get it-right? 

9. Do not start online dating when you are still dating someone. This is right along the lines with the previous statement.

10. If you message someone a couple of times and they do not respond-stop. Messaging me or anyone 8 times in an hour is NOT going to make me want to respond more. It really won’t.

11. If you have any pictures online (this is for the gentlemen) with no shirt on-take them down. How many times do I have to say it? PUT a shirt on. All those pictures with someone flexing in the mirror make a man seem like a real douche. For real.

12. Please do not use bathroom mirror shots. If you do have them, at least clean your bathroom first. I get how sometimes you want to show your potentials how smoking hot you are but the mess could be left out.

***DISCLAIMER: If you are guilty of any of these things please consider two things. 1. This is my opinion. I can’t proclaim to speak for every woman. In fact, I usually feel like the rarity in my city. 2. We all make mistakes. I do, you do, everyone does. No worries-everything can be fixed with the right effort.***

Happy Online Dating!! It certainly is a TRIP!!

Until next time…Ciao

February 5, 2013 - Posted by | Online Dating, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t agree more with this post!!!

    I’m currently dealing with an over-winker (just made that up lol). I swear nearly every message there’s a damn wink. It’s so damn annoying. “Drama free and no games” is most definitely getting old.

    I recently had to block somebody because he kept messaging me! : / But the difference is, last time I told him straight up to stop messaging me yet he messaged me today. ugh. So annoying.

    Comment by dsantos85 | February 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. lol all very valid advice. As someone who’s been through the rigours of online dating, I can definitely attest to all of these. And yes, the certainly apply to women as well. I’ve experienced nearly all of those from women at one point or another, and you’re right, none of them are any sort of a turn on. Keep it real, keep in genuine, and be honest. It’s not that hard.

    Comment by Pearson Sharp | February 6, 2013 | Reply

    • It’s really not that hard! I also agree-online dating is very rigorous. Thank you for reading!

      Comment by datinginvegas | February 6, 2013 | Reply

  3. I can happily say that I have committed none of those transgressions!

    Comment by New Single Guy | February 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. Awesome read! Thankfully I’m not guilty of any of them 🙂

    The biggest annoyance for me is the clear indication that they have not read my profile. How do I know this? I have no children and do not want them. In all of my profiles I have made it explicitly clear that I intend to remain childless. Yet the majority of women who approach me are single parents. *face palm*

    Comment by Chin Up, Chest High! | August 13, 2013 | Reply

    • YAY to not being guilty of any of them! I would think it would be hard to not date a single mom depending on your age bracket. Almost every woman I know that is in her early to mid thirties is a mom. However, that is not to say they do not exisst. I really can’t stand it when people don’t take the time to read a profile-double ugh! Much luck to you!!!!

      Comment by datinginvegas | August 13, 2013 | Reply

      • Thanks 🙂

        Well, I thought I would have a problem finding childless/don’t want children women too but there are plenty out there!

        Good luck to you too!

        Comment by Chin Up, Chest High! | August 13, 2013


Leave a Reply

