Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T

She’s got her own house, she’s got her own car, works hard, two jobs, she’s a bad broad. That’s a favorite song of mine (yes I love rap and hip hop-I just do.) I like to box to that song on my heavy bag.  So a pretty nice guy I’ve been kinda sorta talking to told me I am so independent that it’s intimidating. Apparently, he didn’t like the fact I told him I was busy today and no I did not need his help. Okay, technically I blew him off last night too. AND I guess if you want to be really specific, I blew him off Friday too. Although I also blew another guy off Friday night as well. Guess I screwed up huh?

Nah…I don’t care. Not really, guess I don’t have the “special feeling” for him. As I stated in my post No More Serial Dating I’m Waiting (that is so coooool-just discovered how to link stuff) I am not really feeling the dating just to date scene. I cancelled both dates because I have decided to not serial date. I went out with a girlfriend I hadn’t hung out with in a long time. It was fun!  I am actually a little disinterested over the whole dating thing. Yes I am lonely-sometimes. Yes I really crave intimacy and companionship. It’s just….well…I aint finding it so I’m not going to exhaust myself looking. Until I find it, I have been doing house projects My House Looks Amazing and rekindling some of the friendships I let fade. I am going to even look for an alternative to online dating. (But that’s a secret and I will post about it soon.) I feel better now. Like the pressures off. That’s no fooley’s…

However, the conversation did intrigue me. I was just having a conversation about this topic with my BFF earlier this week. We both are very self-sufficient women and we are both challenged in finding a good man. Meanwhile, it seems like ***disclaimer-this is only my opinion so chill*** our weaker, more dependent friends find great guys. Why the he&* is that? Am I to be punished for not needing my bills paid or for being strong enough to not complain all the time? I am not doing anything special. I am not looking for recognition. I handle the business that needs to be handled. Actually-I am a HECK of a team player. Why is it my fault that my team only consists of one? Is it that I am not vulnerable enough? I am kinda – I just don’t always show it.

So my friend and I were discussing how we can change that. Well, I’ve already vowed to show more interest in the next guy I am really intrigued by as I stated in Should I Call Him or Not?  (Hee hee hee – I am feeling mighty fancy with that.) We were even contemplating showing more vulnerability, blah blah blah. I AM going to compromise and show more interest-I PROMISE-with the next guy I really like. So should I step it up even more? I’ve been thinking about it and….

Nope! I’m going to stay me. I am not going to simper and be ridiculous so a man will want to take care of me (If I am faking it-it will appear ridiculous and unnatural.) I am going to continue to be genuine and perhaps I will be a little less stubborn (that’s another story altogether.) However, I am definitely not going to pretend to be weak or force myself to show more vulnerability. I am sorry….I just can’t do it. What’s my moral? I know this has gone on an on-right? My moral is to stay true to who you are while on the dating scene. Simple really……

Until next time….Ciao

February 4, 2013 - Posted by | Dating Advice, Relationships, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. alternative to online dating?!? i’m curious! 🙂

    and as for being too independent, I totally understand. One of my best friends and I have had many conversations about this topic as well. We’ve come to the conclusion that we’re intimidating to men and it’s really unfortunate. I don’t really know how to fix it! haha. oh well.

    also, how do you do that awesome linking?!?! i’ve been trying to figure it out but i’ve been unsuccessful 😦 lol

    Comment by dsantos85 | February 4, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m not sure if the alternative to online dating is anyting special which is why I haven’t written about it but I will soon. I don’t know if there is a way to fix it and I think we shoudld remain true to who we are cuz we are fabulous. 🙂

      To link, highlight the name of the blog/post and then from the editig toolbar, choose the icon that looks like an infinity sign or a “link” when you hover over it, it states- link content. A screen will appear and state enter url adress-it is the first box not the second. Paste or type the url for whatever you want to link and bazinga! Good luck!

      Comment by datinginvegas | February 4, 2013 | Reply

  2. […] have to address the last one really quick. This applies to all the I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T. women out there. (I also need to share some background info quickly.) I experienced a horrible […]

    Pingback by It’s NOT Playing, It’s Dating – Practical Dating Advice « How to Date in Las Vegas | February 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

