Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

No More Serial Dating I’m Waiting

Well..I am not saying I am boycotting dating. I still want to find some to spend my life with. BUT…I had an epiphany in church. Yes we have churches in Las Vegas. (I so know you were wondering.) I keep focusing on finding “the ONE.” Ironically, I really thought I found him but he turned out to not be “the ONE.” If he was “the ONE” I wouldn’t be writing this. Ooops-I am digressing again. The point is I have spent a lot of energy fearing I will be alone or even worse that I will have to continue to prowl the dating scene forever. In fact…my deepest darkest fear is that the only man that ever really wanted to share a life with me is now dead. But that’s another story entirely. Now where was I? Oh yeah, I was talking about my epiphany at church.

Google the word Epiphany for images and 99% of what you find will be about GOD. Kinda interesting to me..Just sayin..

epiphany

The series at my church is on relationships and the sermon was about Ruth. I can relate to Ruth. She took care of her Mother in Law after her husband died. She was WAY better than me. Ruth worked in the fields to keep food on the table and although she was young and described as pretty, she had an amazing character. She put her family’s needs above her own. (Meaning instead of trying to hook “the ONE” Ruth focused on what GOD expected of her.) What happened? God gave her a rich, nice, and caring husband.  I would honestly settle for a non-crazy one with a job that adored me-he doesn’t have to be rich. Now look-I am not trying to get all preachy on you. I am sharing what gave me my change of heart and what gave me comfort in being single. I do believe and I am not ashamed of that. I am just way too easy going to ever try to force my beliefs down someone else’s throat. However, when my ENTIRE world fell apart-**TWICE** my belief in GOD is what pulled me through. I am very grateful for that. In fact, I am not eloquent enough to do this justice. Let me try a different tactic.

I can’t find the one. There is no other half. 50% x 50% = .25%. You do the math. I need a partner but until then I need to live. I started becoming so obsessed with dating that I am no better than the players I complain about. Perhaps my blog should be titled “How to be Single in Las Vegas.”  But I am also WAAAAY to lazy to change it. Don’t get me wrong, I am still going to date. BUT…I am going to focus on other stuff first. Someone once told me about a woman who said she was married to Jesus. Now I am down with J.C. but when I heard that I was like, “Wow she’s not having any sex.” Yeah I know, that’s probably not nice. Ironically, I understand what she meant now. I am not saying I am married to J.C. but I am certainly not having any sex. (heeheeheehee) Sorry-sometimes I am very immature for my age. I think that woman meant that she is putting GOD’S needs first. I like that. It takes the pressure off of me. My lesson for today??? Dating is not a necessity. Being single does not make you a sub-class citizen. Yes we are pack animals by nature but focus on being the best YOU you can be. Keep trying but stop worrying. The rest will work itself out. Until next time…Ciao!

January 28, 2013 - Posted by | Mistakes, Relationships, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. My friend to find the one you have to find something deeply rooted inside.. You ever been there? also you stated the one is dead… is there a blog post about this somewhere on here that can point to that one?

    Comment by Clark Kent | January 28, 2013 | Reply

    • No. I am not ready to blog about that 🙂 The one after him that I thought was the one definitely didn’t feel I was “the one” or we’d be together. Heeheehee BUT…I am also no longer worried about finding anything. I am just going to be my fabulous self and keep taking care of my family.

      Comment by datinginvegas | January 28, 2013 | Reply

      • Awe…. how beautiful… 🙂

        Comment by Clark Kent | January 28, 2013

  2. Sounds like you’re taking a similar path as me at the moment, as far as approaching dating.

    Comment by New Single Guy | January 29, 2013 | Reply

  3. I support you! I’m really at a point right now when dating feels like take-it-or-leave-it to me. When life has me feeling like a lunatic (like last week), it’s the first thing to get knocked off the priority list. When I started my blog a few weeks ago, I had just applied to grad school in another city, and I thought to myself, “What if I meet someone special and then I decide to go to school?” Instantly I answered, and not in a bargaining-with-God sort of way, just a reminder to myself of my priorities, “If it came to meeting Mr. Right and getting into school or seeing my business take off or landing a great job here in town…I’d take school and art and career in a heartbeat.” I haven’t been at that place in several years, and it’s a good feeling. You know they always say the right one comes along when you aren’t looking for him!

    Comment by fishingforbicycles | January 30, 2013 | Reply

    • I think that’s the key! Focus on yourself first. Good for you!!

      Comment by datinginvegas | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. […] really, guess I don’t have the “special feeling” for him. As I stated in my post No More Serial Dating I’m Waiting (that is so coooool-just discovered how to link stuff) I am not really feeling the dating just to […]

    Pingback by I.N.D.E.P.E.N.D.E.N.T « How to Date in Las Vegas | February 4, 2013 | Reply

  5. […] first? If you are just dating for the sake of dating, I wonder why? I already made my stand against serial dating. I am not going to convince you to agree with me either. Serial dating […]

    Pingback by It’s NOT Playing, It’s Dating – Practical Dating Advice « How to Date in Las Vegas | February 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

