Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

I Don’t Owe You NUTHIN!

I wasn’t going to blog about this but its been festering and boiling and out it comes….My New Year’s Eve was spent on a first date. Yeah I know what you’re thinking…Bold move…right? Well yes, I know it was but he was a seemingly nice guy. We had been talking on the phone for a while if it’s any consolation.

Okay, Okay,  I guess we were only talking on the phone for about a week but who’s counting right? He’s a somewhat successful and somewhat prominent man in town but I’m a lot like Shania Twain..”That don’t impress me much.” However, it’s certainly not a bad thing. Well, I am talking to him about the evening and he states would I be open to staying out all night. I tell him, “You mean like really late?”  He didn’t exactly answer me. (It just never dawns on me that he might mean something else. I promise it didn’t.) Then he told me he planned on getting a room because drinking was involved. (Once again, this makes sense to me because a DUI on his record will ruin his career.) AND…Just like that the date is scheduled.

We arrive at the designated meeting place and decide on eating Sushi. I love me some Sushi so  this isn’t a bad start. We get to the restaurant and he makes the waiter move us three times. In fact, the Manager actually came by to visit us and ensure we are okay. Naturally, we start drinking. At this point, I really kinda need a drink. After a couple of drinks, my dates ego starts to grow. In fact he implies certain things that are starting to make me wonder if this is the “real” person and the liquor is making him put his guard down. I love me an ego on a man too-almost as much as Sushi but I do not like people who feel entitled. Cuz really you’re not….

ImageMr. Date proceeds to let me know that he is a king and he only has the best. He implies that this is why he is spending the holiday with me. (what’s that I smell???? Oh you’re following me, I know you are…) He also lets me know he does nothing without a purpose and asks me, “Why are you here with me?” I reply with, “Um to get to know you.” He lets me know that is a bad answer….Uh Okay dude….we ring in the new year and this guy is pretty touchy feely. That’s okay too. I mean we are in a public place (so he can’t get out of hand) and it is New Year’s! 10, 9 ,8 ,7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

As 2013 arrives, Mr. Date starts getting pushier and starts trying to convince me to go to his room. Well that……….AINT GONNA HAPPEN. I am not that type of girl. He keeps pushing and anyone who knows me knows I am one STUBBORN chica. I said no and I meant it! So there…Well he became offended. Not only offended but he never called me again. How rude – yet an almost predictable response.

WHAT EV ER

Since that night, I have been told that I should have expected it because it was New Year’s Eve. I guess I have to chalk it up to inexperience. To me a first date is a first date regardless of what day it falls on. AND I am NOT going to someone’s house/room on a first date. Derr…..

Moral: Always be prepared to stand up for your own unique set of values on a date. Always be prepared for the possibility of offending someone on a date. Always be prepared…

Until next time…Ciao!!!

January 5, 2013 - Posted by | First Dates, Mistakes, Relationships | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I have a couple of thoughts on this situation from a guy’s point of view. First of all guys, don’t make the assumption that just because it is a special night, in this case NYE, and that you have spent a lot of money, and told her what a great guy you are that she is going to sleep with you on your very first date!! I know some women will, and not give it a second thought, but don’t assume that every woman you date is going to do that.

    Secondly, this guy could have saved the hassle of this whole situation and at the same time saved himself a lot of money if he would have done one simple thing from basic sales 101. It’s called the “trial close.” One of the things you learn in basic sales training is that you should be asking closing questions throughout the entire sales process and let’s face it, this whole dating experience is basically a “selling situation.”

    What this dude should have done is this; when he was talking to you on the phone about this big night he had planned he should have said something like this, “We’re going to have a terrific time and it is going to be quite the party. Since we are going to be drinking and having a great time together I’m going to go ahead and get us a room at the hotel and that way we won’t have to drive after the party what do you think?”

    Then he should have waited for your reaction. Some women would say “oh that sounds wonderful!” At that point he would know that the deal will more than likely be closed at the end of the party and they will go to the room. Other women, probably most at this point in the dating relationship, would say something like, “No, I don’t want to spend the night. I can take a cab home.” He would then know that he was probably not going to close the deal that night and he could either move on to someone else, or just accept the fact that it was not likely that you were going to sleep with him that night.

    If he was smart, (obviously, this dude isn’t) he would have waited to reserve the room until he did the trial close and it went in his favor. Let’s face it guys, rooms in Vegas on NYE aren’t cheap!

    Comment by yourvegasdate | January 5, 2013 | Reply

    • I agree and from a female’s perspective, I don’t “owe” a guy anything just because he did spend the money..just sayin…

      Comment by datinginvegas | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. I’m joining in on this ‘comment convo’ a bit late, but I have to disagree…

    First…trying to connect with women (a.k.a. humans) shouldn’t be likened to a sale (a.k.a. objects or products…or services).

    Second….what this guy should have done, was to not assume anything about how the night was gonna go down (like you said). But your suggestion is kind of ridiculous. Let’s say Ms. How to Date in Las Vegas went ahead and did say that was a great idea to get a hotel room. That in no way indicates consent for later sexual activity.

    Comment by womencyclists | January 23, 2013 | Reply

    • That’s a very interesting point of view. I like the idea of not assuming anything about the night. I think it should be natural. Whatever happens shall happen.

      Comment by datinginvegas | January 23, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] wisdom I’ve learned. However, I do share when I think it’s something of value. (My NYE was a good […]

    Pingback by No Means No! | How to Date in Las Vegas | March 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

