Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

Online Dating: First Contact Emails…Pass/Fail?

The first email from a stranger! Some are thoughtful first encounters, some are uncomfortably weird, and some are an absolute trip. Regardless of the quality, they are an essential component of online dating. So….in an effort to be useful, I would like to share some online approach wisdom…..Once again take it for what its worth..my humble opinion..blah blah blah…

DO NOT use the first email approaches below-they don’t work. Well…they don’t work on women like me.

  • Useless one line messages like: “Please”, “You’ve got star potential”, “U Down”That one kills me..down for what dude?, “Hey Sexy” and on an on..you get the drift-right? I wonder how often those lines work on different women?
  • Guys that copy and paste the same message to multiple women. Um if you think I wouldn’t notice, maybe you should double-check who you are sending it to because I received it twice-ha! Psst: We can tell….
  • Completely illiterate messages. My favorite one is a recent message from a guy that said, “Dam yo eyes is as blu as da sea. U got sum purfecion in u gurl.”  Hey I  like the idea of having perfection in me..but really? heeheehee
  • Beware of the one touch approach. “Text me at 555-1212”  Excuse me bro but I don’t even know you or your name. Why would I text you?
  • The mysterious message doesn’t fool me either. “I can’t have a picture of myself online because I have powerful enemies, but I will email you one.”  What are you Superman? Is Lex Luther after you? Gimme a break. You are married-you know it and I know it. Double Eeeeewwwwww!!

DO  try the first email approaches below-they might work. Well…they might work on women like me.

  • The person who takes the time to read my profile. This would be noticeable by stating a fact  included on the profile.
  • Take your email a step further by including a commonality. It motivates me more to respond if we share an interest.
  • Create an email that is obviously original and custom to the person you are contacting. For example, if the profile of the person states they are outgoing and silly-try to send a message that is…..outgoing and silly..Are you following?
  • The keep it simple approach. An example is, “Hello. I really liked your profile and wanted to take the time to say hello. How are you?”  This approach comes across as simple and honest.  Me likey!
  • The direct and honest message. “Hello, I really liked your profile. Please check my profile out and if you feel the same way, let’s talk.”  I am a really big fan of direct. This approach also has a second value. If the girl/guy is not interested in you, it saves time. Sweeeeeet!

Best of luck!! Online dating is rough!! I’m about to retire from it…but stay tuned…..

December 31, 2012 - Posted by | Online Dating | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. first messages can either make you or break you! I just hate when guys don’t put any effort into their messages.

    Comment by dsantos85 | December 31, 2012 | Reply

    • It sure is!!! A little effort goes a long way.

      Comment by datinginvegas | December 31, 2012 | Reply

    • But if you got a canned message from a guy you thought was really hot, that rule would go out the window.

      Comment by Stephen | August 17, 2016 | Reply

  2. This article is really well written. It also offers some great advice. Good job.

    Comment by Stephen | August 17, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

