Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

What I wish men knew….while dating

Image

There are LOTS of talks and theories about the differences between men and women. I understand that we truly communicate differently as a gender. I mean this is not stuff made up to sell books. I was married a long time and although I’m not any longer, I do feel that I discovered a few things about men’s communication style. (don’t worry guys-I’m not saying I’m an expert-there’s still some mystery.)

Below you will find what I wish men knew or acted like they knew….especially while dating. ****DISCLAIMER***** This is my opinion. I can’t say I speak for ALL women or even the MAJORITY of women. However, if you’ve been reading my blog, you know I am speaking as a GOOD woman.

  • I wish men knew that it really hurts when you don’t call when you say you will. (if you don’t plan on calling, don’t pretend you will cuz that stuff hurts my feelings.)
  • I wish men knew that it’s okay if you are talking to multiple women. Unless we have an agreement, I am talking to other men too. (Just don’t make it obvious or ignore me)
  • Please don’t treat me like a back-up date even if I am. (This correlates to the request above-it stings my pride man)
  • If you are no longer interested in seeing me, please tell me. (I’m a big girl-I can take it, I promise)
  • Please do not text me a question and when I reply disappear. (I mean what the heck did you ask for then..uggh)
  • If you don’t call/text me, I automatically think you don’t like me. (I am used to men expressing interest-not playing hard to get.)
  • If I don’t ALWAYS call you first it doesn’t mean I don’t like you. (Look-I know this stuff is confusing but I was taught from a young age that a good girl should not make herself too available or throw herself at a man-its part of what makes me a “lady.”)

There are so many many more things but I am tired of writing. These are the ones that bother me the most often. If you are a woman reading this and agree well I hope you feel a little better because you are not alone. If you are a man reading this and feel enlightened-awesome! It would be nice to think I enlightened someone. So until next time….

Ciao

December 21, 2012 - Posted by | Men Advice | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. I also would like to add that I wish men wouldn’t try to be “sly” or spare my feelings. Like you said, we’re big girls, and we can handle rejection. I wish men would be honest, and when they say they like honesty, and don’t “play games,” I wish they would be serious about it.

    Comment by audreystyles | December 21, 2012 | Reply

  2. I don’t care if you are a man or a woman, do what you say you’ll do! if you say you will call later, then call!! If you really care about someone then you will damn well call! If you don’t care about them, then let them know. Believe me, it hurts a lot less to just tell them that you are no longer interested or that you want to see someone else. if you just disappear not only is it rude, but it can really hurt the other person.

    Yes, men and women communicate differently, but we all should at least try to show respect and consideration for the other person, no matter what.

    Comment by yourvegasdate | December 21, 2012 | Reply

  3. I agree with you both but can only relate to the women’s perspective. It hurts my feeeewings when men don’t just tell me they don’t want to see me anymore.

    Comment by datinginvegas | December 21, 2012 | Reply

  4. So very true.

    – K.

    Comment by Day Today Dating | December 21, 2012 | Reply

  5. On behalf of all men, I apologize. We (all men, that is) are often casting a wide net in an attempt to get laid. We said we’d call you because it quickly identified an open door. We did not call or text you because, frankly, no matter what they say, girls prefer assholes. We did not tell you the interest has faded because we might want to come back later and hit it again. Anyway, sorry about that. Nothing personal.

    Comment by epicurusspeak | December 21, 2012 | Reply

    • I can appreciate that..but that’s the kind of stuff I am trying to avoid 🙂

      Comment by datinginvegas | December 22, 2012 | Reply

  6. totally agree about the not calling when they say they will!

    Comment by Broke Bitch Glamour | January 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

