Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

Watch Out: Signs that Your Love Interest is a Playa

So what’s a player? Well first off, I pronounce it playa. Yeah I said it so there! For those of you wondering what it means, I found a definition. According to the Urban Dictionary, the definition of a player is as follows.

  • someone who dates more than one person at a time, usually just for sex or other perks. Will typically do anything to have sex with someone. Carries a heavy negative connotation. Usually used to describe males, but could be used to describe females who act in this manner. Often pronounced “playa.” http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/player

I have seen men and women behave very poorly in what we call the “dating game.” Or sometimes its the “crying game” but really that’s besides the point. So I have some stuff to share. First and foremost, women can be players! So any men reading this might gain knowledge too.

In fact, I dare say that when women are players they are more dangerous than men. I interviewed two players today. (yeah I did okay-don’t judge me I was curious because I am relatively stupid on the subject.) The first player I spoke with was a man. He let me know that he always acts like he “really likes” the woman when he is with her but seldom makes time for her because he is always juggling multiple women. He proceeded to tell me that when a man really likes someone, he will make time for them. (I already figured that one out-but it’s nice to have it confirmed.) The second player was a woman-yes a friend-and I gotta say she answered with confidence. She let me know that a player doesn’t ever get caught. She can keep several men engaged at the same time and each man will feel special. She even gets men to pay her bills (men that do not even live in Las Vegas and have little to gain by doing so other than her attention.) WOWSAS! This is one smooooth sister!

However, I have no desire to be like her. (Even though it WOULD be nice to have someone pay some of my bills.)  Once again, this is “A Good Girls Guide to Dating.” However my two player friends helped me with the list of signs below. It’s a simple list and I am sure there are things I have missed.***This is just my humble opinion-no offense intended-but it is MY blog so take it for what its worth or don’t***

  • Do not return calls promptly (barring work of course.)
  • Only communicate via Facebook/Email (I found this one interesting but my girlfriend swears by it.)
  • Dating is sporadic and always end with intimate encounters
  • Do not give out personal info
  • Consistently screen calls
  • Gives the general impression that you are the one and only but never makes time for you

I am sure there are a million more but I think everyone gets the general point. At the end of the day, if someone really likes you, you will not doubt it and he/she will make time for you.Good luck to all my friends! It’s a war out there…..

December 11, 2012 - Posted by | Chemistry, Men Advice, Uncategorized, Women Advice | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. You are so right that yes, it is a war out there. However, one thing that you didn’t really dig into is that for a man to be considered a “playa” he must also be having sex with you and multiple other women at the same time. If he only is seeing you sporadically and no sex is involved then he is really just your “friend.” On the other hand, a playa will make you and all of his women feel really “special” and “loved. ” When he is with you you will feel like your time together is very high quality. He will do this in order to have sex with you . However, the thing about a playa is that he will be doing this with you and multiple other women at the same time. In fact, he may be having quality time (sex) with you in the afternoon and then having more quality time (sex) with another woman that evening. So, ladies if your man is spending “quality time” with you (sex) and then disappearing for days at a time guess what….you are having sex with a playa!

    Comment by factorhere | December 11, 2012 | Reply

    • And ladies if this has been you…forgive yourself, forgive the playa, and move the he*& on. Don’t let any playa playa from the Himalaya bring you down. You are beautiful 🙂

      Comment by datinginvegas | December 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. I really don’t mind a playa. I can spot them. Sometimes, they think they are playing me and I don’t say a word….when I’ve gotten what I want, I give them hell just to amuse myself. This little fact is what gets me played by the “expert” playa. The guy that makes small time players say..”dayumm, playa got game” These guys know you know they are a player, so they try to prove to you that they aren’t what you think they are. You..aka ‘me’ finds this challenging and eventually, months into the cat and mouse game, think, wow, if this guy didn’t really like me, he wouldn’t be trying so hard. This guy will even hold off on sex and tell you he doesn’t want you to think he’s playing you, just to make you want it more haha. It’s brilliant really. Don’t hate the player, hate the game. 😉

    Comment by dawnienic | December 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

