Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

Um….I’m Okay….really

I know that the holidays are here. I know that it can be hard to be alone. I know that everyone gets lonely. I just want to tell people today that it’s okay to be alone sometimes. I say this because I have had a couple of humiliating (or what could have been) experiences lately.

About a week ago, I was at my hairdresser. All of the women were chatting as we tend to do at a beauty salon. One woman states, “I think everyone should be married.” I am amused because that’s a really broad statement. I mean some people don’t want to be married. Derr.. However, I just smile my normal smile. This same woman turns to me and asks me if I’m married. I tell her no I am not. She then states, “Yeah but you’re living with someone-right?” I reply with a no. She then asks, “Yeah but you have a boyfriend-right?” Well DANG DOG! At this point I’m glad I am a relatively confident woman because this stings a little. The woman was obviously embarrassed and thankfully shut up.

Today I am speaking with one of my favorite people (a male friend.) He is telling me all about his new relationship and how the kids are bonding and they are getting ready to move on to the next step in the relationship. This is all gravy for me. I am truly the kind of person that would never begrudge a friend happiness no matter what my status is, I love him and want him to be happy. He deserves it. However, at the end of convo he gets all awkward and is like..”How is your…um…dating stuff going?” LOL! Bless him-really bless him, I let him know I am okay. I am not in a rush. My time will come, blah blah blah.

Why did I write this? Mainly because I am okay. Also, because if it helps even one person out from feeling lonely this holiday season then I have done a good deed. Remember, where you are now is NOT where you will be in the near future. Everything that happens in life leads to something ever better. Don’t compromise what you need in order to not be alone. I’m okay and you’re okay-lol!  Until next time…

Image

December 9, 2012 - Posted by | Men Advice, Mistakes, Uncategorized, Women Advice | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I totally agree that it’s ok to be alone.
    It’s important that people don’t confuse being lonely to being alone.
    Happy holidays and enjoy the people in your life!
    ~ Sassy

    Comment by smartnsassy | December 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. When people tell me they’re single, I have nothing but respect, means somewhere down the line they chose not to settle. High five to you!

    Comment by dawnie | December 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

