Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

10 Common Online Dating Profile MISTAKES

Image

SO what’s in an online profile? Is anyone 100% honest? Um..probably not. If I were entirely honest, my profile would include “can be a spaz at times, notorious for stacking papers in corners and stuffing things under my bed.”  In other words, it is normal to put your best foot forward on any (self advertisement.) However, during my online tenure, I have found things that should just be avoided.

  1. Men with pictures of themselves with no shirt on (not cool man, not cool)
  2. Anyone who has “not looking for drama or drama free” (I’m sorry but there is no one walking this earth without some form of drama-life is drama. Using that phrase is cliche and makes me wonder if you’re unrealistic in expectations.)
  3. Profile pictures that contain members of the opposite sex. (Really? If you have one…take it down right now please. Even if it’s your sister it sends the wrong message.)
  4. Profile pictures that are grainy or in black and white. (This is either an old picture of you are using the black and white format to hide your age. My male friends complain that women do this a lot.)
  5. Profile picture of you with sunglasses. (I can’t see your face. What are you hiding?)
  6. Long rants in your profile about how you are not looking to play games. (It has been my experience that people who have to rant that hard are only trying to cover up their game playing tendencies.
  7. Profile descriptions that tell me absolutely nothing about what you like to do or what you’re interested about. (How do I know if we are a match if all you are telling me is what YOU’RE looking for? I want to see what you are interested in too.)
  8. I’m always leery of profiles that use the word “marriage” in them. (I want that too-but maybe I don’t want it with you? Or maybe we shouldn’t be too desperate? I’m just looking out for you.)
  9. Profile pictures taken at weird angles or of your pets only. (I love animals but once again-what are you hiding? Also, weird angles are a great tip off that you’re trying to hide a disfigurement. Keep it real. I promise it is better.)
  10. No profile picture at all. (You are married or deformed. If you are married-yuck. If you are deformed, please post a picture. There is someone for everyone and really someone is going to find out eventually. Be true to oneself – I always say.)

Profiles evolve over time and at the end of the day they should be genuine. Does your profile reflect who you really are?

December 8, 2012 - Posted by | Mistakes, Online Dating, Uncategorized | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. love, love love this!!! great post! if only everybody was able to see this hahah

    Comment by dsantos85 | December 8, 2012 | Reply

  2. I actually went on more dates after I changed my profile to a rant instead of the walk on the beach type.

    Comment by geminiunleashed | December 8, 2012 | Reply

    • I’ve heard that before from my male friends but my inquisitive nature wants to know how those dates went?

      Comment by datinginvegas | December 8, 2012 | Reply

      • Well tomorrow I will be renting movies to watch at her place so I would like to think it went well. I think it works because it is a shock to see that. It is perhaps one of the only ways to show true personality on a dating website. My biggest pet peave which I have written about is women saying they are openminded an never reply. So after a while I decided screw it! I’m going to write exactly what I’m thinking so they know.

        Comment by geminiunleashed | December 8, 2012

  3. This is a great post with excellent advice!! Anyone who is trying the online dating things should read this, study it and follow it. You mentioned pics of men with no shirts on. Well, what about women with no shirts on? LOL!! I haven’t seen one of those yet, but I’ll let you know if I do. Seriously though, One other thing that I think needs to be mentioned is people posting photos with a bunch of people in them and you can’t even tell which one is the person you are supposed to be looking at. Also, why post a bunch of photos of scenery from places you have visited. I really don’t care about any of that. I want to see you and figure out if this is someone I am intersted in. Not the scenes from your world wide travels.

    Comment by factorhere | December 9, 2012 | Reply

    • Spoken like a truly experienced online dater 🙂

      Comment by datinginvegas | December 9, 2012 | Reply

  4. Another very well written article that offers great advice. It should be adopted by online dating sites to sign up.

    Comment by Stephen | August 17, 2016 | Reply

  5. Thank you!

    Comment by datinginvegas | August 17, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

