Single in Sin City

A good girls survival guide to dating in Las Vegas

I just met you…and this is crazy…

Image

But here’s my ring…marry my baby! Okay I am not a song writer but I just have to talk about the time I went on a date and the man was planning our future-starting with…..the wedding! Actually this has happened to me on two occasions with different men but for the purposes of this post, I will stick with one experience.

I met a guy online that seemed great! We did everything right. We started by chatting online, moved on to talking on the phone almost every night and he even went to church!!! (That’s a big plus for me.) So we decide to meet. He takes me to a nice restaurant and stares at me strangely the whole time. This guy was HUGE and by huge I mean built like a UFC fighter! Needless to say his intense stare made me nervous. However, I decide even majorly buff guys can get flustered so I continue on the date. (Anyone else ever had a date so bad they slipped out by using the old I need to use the restroom move?? Come on..I know you have but we’ll talk later.) After dinner, we decided to go grab drinks.

He took me to a small bar-which I don’t mind-and it became clear he knew everyone there. Actually, knowing everyone there is an understatement. It was his best friend since grade schools bar and all of his childhood friends were there. I am now feeling like he is introducing me to his best friends on the first date. Awkward-right? Why yes it is! The first thing that happens is one of his friends saunters up to me and spends 30 minutes trying to convince me this guy was a great catch. Okay, okay I think it’s kinda cute that his friends are selling him. Slowly the date moves from awkward to bad.

My date turns to me and tells me he would like us to marry in the fall. I laugh out loud like this is a joke. Then he tells me that the first thing he will do is buy me a new car. (I’m growing offended.) My date proceeds to inform me that once we are married I will quit my job to run a business with him because he can tell I am good at business. (Now my “saratude” is starting to kick in.) Who does this joker think he is? I have taken care of myself for quite a while and am not about to have some clown start planning my future. On the first date? What the what??? If he thinks I am just looking for a paycheck or a sugar daddy-he’s got the wrong gal. I’m looking for a partner not a dictator.

I turn to him and say, “I think you need to relax buddy.” He blushed and told me okay. As the night continued I discovered that he is only interested in meeting a girl he can marry. Duh-right? I finished as quickly as possible and left without making a scene. I can’t help but see irony in this.

Isn’t it ironic that men I date (especially online) usually go one of two ways? I have found that some men want an instant relationship-as in just add water and LOVE ME LOVE ME LOVE ME. Other men don’t seem to even want to try to have a relationship that is real. Can I get something in the middle please? Is it just me or does anyone else ever feel like the last normal person standing?

December 6, 2012 - Posted by | First Dates, Mistakes, Online Dating, Women Advice | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oh, the desperado, looking for a just add water relationship. I have two examples of this. One, we met for dinner and drinks, he asked me what I was looking for and I told him I wanted to date, have fun, and hopefully meet someone “special” but that I felt those things have to develop over time. He told me he had no time for a woman who was trying to play games. Wow, honesty is a game these days? The other…we had coffee, then decided to go dancing, had a blast, he text me afterwards and said, “that was the worst date of my life, you could have just said you weren’t interested” Whatchu talkin bout willis? Men be cray cray, too!!

    Comment by Dawnie | December 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. Once again, this is not something that just happens to women. A number of years ago I went on a date with a woman that I met, where else but on-line! Our first date was nice. We went to dinner and had a really good time. We went out again a few days later and on this date the conversation turned towards marriage and she just assumed that she and I were going to get married, on the second date!! She was planning where it would be, what her dress was going to look like, what I was going to wear, what the wedding dinner was going to be…ugh!! I was scared!!! I took her home and never called her again. So good advice to both men and women is that early on in the dating process don’t just assume that marriage to this person is around the corner. It doesn’t matter what sex you are, it will most likely send the other person running for the hills. In any relationsip it takes time to build and maybe it will lead to marriage, but I gurantee that if you try to rush it more than likely it won’t

    Comment by factorhere | December 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh I agree that it is not gender specific. I spend lots of time speaking with my single male friends. I get that crazy behavior has no gender preferences. I think some people try too hard in these cases.

    Comment by datinginvegas | December 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

